The Hardway by DC Talk

© 1992. Written by Toby McKeehan Drum Program: Anthony Miracle, Toby McKeehan
Additional Programming: 2 the T
Keyboards: Anthony Miracle
Additional Keys: Mark Heimermann
Guitars: Jerry McPherson
Spice: 2 the T, Toby McKeehan
Muted Trumpet: John Painter
Background Vocals: Chris Harris, P.J. Heimermann, Todd Collins, Mark Heimermann


Some people gotta learn the hardway
I guess I'm the kinda guy
That has to find out for myself
I had to learn the hardway, Father
I'm on my knees and I'm crying for help

Now I've been high and I've been low
I've been some places that you will not go
I never thought there would come the day
When I wished I never would've lived this way

But I've been searching for a long, long time
I thought the devil was a friend of mine
I turned my back on everything that was true
And wasted years that belong to you

It took so long for me to see
That I'm a victim of nature and me
Left to myself I realize
I am the maker of my own demise

But you accept me every time and again
And never mention just how selfish I've been
Why must it always take me so long to see
That I have fallen but you will forgive me?

The warning signs are like flares in the night
Still I proceed my greed is in spite of the fire
I know that's bound to burn
Why is it that I always gotta learn
The hardway
I had to learn the hardway

Live Versions

Short Analysis and Review

Notes and Trivia

Go Back